Dr.Sardarilal, born in Amritsar and Graduated from Medical College, Amritsar. After acquiring Diploma in Venereology from Institute of Venereology, Madras Medical College, he obtained M.D. (Dermatology) Degree from Punjab University. He served as teacher in Dermato-Venereology at JIPMER, Pondichery, Rothak medical College, Shimla Medical College, Maulana Azad Medical College, New Delhi and retired in 1992 as Professor and Head of the Dept. of Lady Hardinge Medical College, New Delhi. His Clinical skills, enthusiasm for his clinical work and his outstanding personal qualities of wisdom, cheerfulness earned the admiration of his colleagues and friends. As a delightful colleague and a successful teacher, he was greatly respected and loved by one and all. Accepting and acknowledging his hunger for academic activities, the Members of Association nominated him as the founder Editor of its Journal (Indian Journal for the study of Sexually Transmitted Diseases – IJSTD). Having accepted the Editorship he published Journal single handedly from 1980 till his demise in 1993, which earned a lot of appreciation for him from different quarters. In recognition of his services rendered to the specialty and to the Association, IASSTD has instituted an award in his name viz. “Dr.Saradarilal Memorial Award”. This award would be presented at the National Conference to the author of the best article published in the Journal (IJSTD) every year. The following are the recipients of the Dr.Sardarilal Memorial Award:
1999 23rd VISAKHAPATNAM Dr. Puneet Bhargava
2000 24th CHANDIGARH Dr. Puneet Bhargava
2001 25th JAIPUR
2002 26th NEW DELHI Dr. Bhushankumar
2003 27th VADODARA Dr.D.M. Thappa
2004 28th JABALPUR Dr. Alka Gogate
2005 29th KOLKATA Dr.Y.S. Marfatia
2006 30th CHENNAI Dr.B.K. Kavina
2007 31st RHOTAK Dr. Thilagavathy Subramaniam
2008 32nd Kodaikanal Dr.N.A .Karibasappa
2009 33rd Khajuraho Dr. Meenakshi Malhotra
2010 34th Vijayawada Dr. Ragini Ghiya
2011 35th New Delhi Dr. Shilpee Choudry
2012 36th Kochi Dr TS Anish
2013 37th Mysore Dr. Taru garg
2014 38th Chandigarh Dr.Sivaranjini.R
2015 39th Coimbatore Dr.Vibhu Mendiratta
2016 40th Bhopal Dr Nagendran Prabhakaran
2017 41st Bhubaneswar Dr. Deepika Pandhi
2018 42nd New Delhi Dr. Kashinath Nayak
2019 43rd Kodaikanal Dr.Dimple Chopra
2022 46th Hyderabad Dr.Nisha Madaan (2019) Dr.P.K. Ashwini (2020) Dr. Swati Singh (2021)
2023 47th Kolkata Dr. Aradhana Bhargava
2024 48th New Delhi Dr.G.V.Seethalakshmi